FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022: All about the draw

Wales, Scotland, or Ukraine will also be in Qatar in November and December, but they won’t know who until the remaining European play-offs in June.

Twenty-nine of the 32 World Cup teams have been revealed, and two intercontinental play-off matches are also scheduled for June.

Jermaine Jenas will host the draw from the Doha Exhibition & Conference Centre, which will be broadcast live on BBC TV and online beginning at 16:45 BST on Friday, April 1.

The full show will be streamed on the BBC Red Button, iPlayer, and BBC Sport website, with live written commentary. It will be shown on BBC One from 16:45-18:00 BST, with the last half-hour on BBC Two.

Former England captain Alan Shearer, former Nigeria striker Efan Ekoku, and former Scotland forward James McFadden, as well as journalists Julien Laurens and Tim Vickery, will be among the BBC guests, with Jonathan Pearce commenting on the draw.

BBC Radio 5 Live will also have full coverage of the draw and reaction to it, with presenter Rick Edwards on the red carpet in Doha and football writer John Murray offering live commentary from the draw event.

The Fifa World Cup will be held in Qatar from November 21 to December 18.

Here’s all you need to know about the draw, which will be held in front of around 2,000 people.

Nations that are playing the World Cup 2022 

Pot 1 (seeded teams): Qatar, Brazil, Belgium, France, Argentina, England, Spain, Portugal.

Pot 2: Mexico, Netherlands, Denmark, Germany, Uruguay, Switzerland, USA, Croatia.

Pot 3: Senegal, Iran, Japan, Morocco, Serbia, Poland, South Korea, Tunisia.

Pot 4: Cameroon, Canada, Ecuador, Saudi Arabia, Ghana, Wales/Scotland/Ukraine, Costa Rica/New Zealand, UAE/Australia/Peru.

Qatar chief says World Cup criticism ill-informed

LGBTIQ+ ‘issues remain’ before Qatar World Cup

Football Daily podcast: Euro Leagues: Potty for the Qatar World Cup Draw

How does it work?

This World Cup follows the same structure as previous events, with teams divided into eight groups of four.

Teams are seeded according to the Fifa global rankings, which were revealed on March 31. The hosts, Qatar, will be seeded in position A1 from Pot 1, with the other top seeds being the top seven rated teams that qualified. England is one of them.

The three undetermined play-off winners (Wales v Scotland/Ukraine, Costa Rica v New Zealand, UAE/Australia v Peru) will be seeded last.

The draw will begin with the teams in the top pot and work their way down to the bottom pot.

Following the selection of a team, a second ball will be pulled to determine which group they will be assigned to.

Teams from the same content will be separated, except for European countries, where no more than two people can be in the same group.

Unlike past World Cups, the match schedule will be determined after the event and will not be determined automatically based on how teams are drawn out.

According to Fifa, this gives them “scope to provide a more beneficial kick-off time for audiences at home”

Why don’t we know all theNational Teams?

Normally, all of the teams are known before the World Cup draw, but three slots have still to be selected this year for two separate reasons.

On June 13 and 14, Qatar will host two intercontinental finals. Costa Rica and New Zealand meet in one, while Peru faces the winner of the Asian play-off between the United Arab Emirates and Australia on June 7 in Doha.

Due to the sheer knock-on effects of the Covid epidemic on each continent, those games were moved from March. All Oceania qualifications were contested in a mini-tournament in Qatar from March 17 to March 30.

Mostly because of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, one of the three European play-off routes has been postponed.

Scotland’s semi-final against Ukraine at Hampden Park has been moved from March to an unannounced date in June when Ukraine is expected to be available.

The winner of that game will face Wales, who defeated Austria in their semi-final, a few days later in Cardiff for a spot in the World Cup.

Who is doing the draw?

The draw will be conducted by eight former players and coaches, including World Cup winners Cafu of Brazil and Lothar Matthaus of Germany.

Jay-Jay Okocha, Tim Cahill, Adel Ahmed MalAllah, Ali Daei, Bora Milutinovic, and Rabah Madjer will join them.

Cahill, a former Everton midfielder, scored Australia’s first World Cup goal and appeared in four games, while Okocha, a former Bolton playmaker, helped Nigeria qualify for their first World Cup in 1994.

Serb Milutinovic is the only person to have managed five World Cups in a row with different teams (Mexico 1986, Costa Rica 1990, USA 1994, Nigeria 1998, and China 2002).

MalAllah represented Qatar in the 1981 Fifa World Youth Championship and the 1984 Olympics.

Madjer scored for Algeria in their World Cup victory against West Germany in 1982, while Daei was the all-time men’s best scorer in internationals with 112 until last year, when Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo surpassed him.

The draw will be conducted by ex-England midfielder Jenas, former USA women’s international Carli Lloyd, and British TV personality Samantha Johnson.

Who will be missing the World Cup 2022 Qatar?

The most noticeable absences are European champions Italy, who was defeated in a play-off by North Macedonia, but they did also skip the previous World Cup.

Russia also fails to qualify after being booted out of the play-offs as a result of their country’s invasion of Ukraine.

Norway failed to qualify, thus Erling Braut Haaland of Borussia Dortmund will have to wait for his first big tournament appearance.

Mohamed Salah and Egypt will also not be present after losing on penalties to Senegal.

Nigeria, Algeria, and Ivory Coast are all absent from Africa, as with South American teams Colombia and Chile.