Season of the Nobel prize

Unlike other awards, such as literature and economics, handed over in Sweden, the Nobel peace prize is represented in Norway.  The Nobel prize season has set in at the beginning of October 2022. Within the first week of October, six Nobel prize winners’ names were announced, including the personalities related to scientists, writers, economists, and human rights leaders.  

The season for the Nobel prize of the year 2022 started in the first week of  October. It began with the medicine prize on Monday and continued with the announcement of physics, chemistry, literature, and Nobel peace prize on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, respectively.  However, the Nobel prize for economics is planned to be announced on October 10, 2022.  

Knowing a little about the prize you must be curious to know a little more about this international prize. 

Few Facts about the Nobel prize

Alfred Nobel, a wealthy Swedish industrialist, and inventor of dynamite established prizes in medicine, physics, chemistry, literature, and peace.  Five years after Nobel’s death, the first award was given in 1901.

The worth of the noble prize is not less than 10 million Kronor. Alfred Nobel passed away on Dec 10, 1896, and on the same day noble prize, along with the medal and diploma, would be handed out this year. 

Alfred Nobel did not suggest the economics award, officially known as the Bank of Sweden prize in Economic Sciences in memory of Alfred Nobel. Instead, it was created by Sweden’s central bank in 1968. 

The Nobel prize and the economics prize were awarded 609 times between 1901 and 2021. 

Although this award is most coveted, it has primarily been awarded to western nations.   

Who can nominate a candidate?

Thousands of people worldwide, including university professors, lawmakers, previous Nobel laureates, and committee members, submit nominations for the Nobel Prizes. All the nominations are kept secret for 50 years, but those who submit their nominations themselves announce their suggestion publicly, particularly for the Nobel peace prize. 

What about the Norwegian connection?

Unlike other awards, which are awarded in Sweden, the Nobel Peace Prize is presented in Norway. No one knows the exact reason why Alferd had suggested so, but at the time, Sweden and Norway were joined together and were demarcated in 1905. 

What does it take to win a Nobel?

It is a test of patience to win a prize because it takes decades to have your work recognized by the Noble Judges.

Award categories 

The Nobel Prize recognizes the highest achievement in multiple subjects. Along with the gold medal, winners receive roughly $1.14m. For instance, 111 medicine prizes are awarded to 222 laureates, 112 chemistry prizes are awarded to 186 laureates, and 113 literature prizes are awarded to 117 laureates. 

This year a french author, Annie Ernaux, won the Prize in literature. She has been awarded for courage, and clinical acuity with which she uncovered the roots, estrangements, and collective restrains of personal memory. 


It has been a hundred years since the prize’s inception, and the committee is willing to let this legacy carry on.